Millionaire Chinese businessman bulldozes huts in village where he grew up , Builds luxury flats for residents , For free

TLDR

Xiong Shuihua paid for wooden huts he grew up in to be knocked down in Xiongkeng village in the city of Xinyu, southern China The construction and steel tycoon then spent millions replacing them with luxury flats for residents He has housed 72 families to repay them for their kindness in his youth A further 18 families who were particularly kind will be provided villas to live in Elderly and low paid residents will also be given three meals a day for free

The Full Story

A multi millionaire Chinese businessman has bulldozed the wooden huts and muddy roads where he grew up - and built luxury homes for the people who lived there.

Xiong Shuihua was born in Xiongkeng village in the city of Xinyu, southern China and said that his family had always been well looked after and supported by residents in his childhood.

So when the 54-year-old Xiong Shuihua ended up making millions in the steel industry he decided to repay the favour - for free.

The business tycoon decided to return to the village and give everybody a place of their own to live.

Until 2008, the area was run down and many lived in basic homes mostly huts and has been transformed in recent years and now 72 families are enjoying life in luxury new flats.

Xiong Shuihua said: 'I earned more money than I knew what to do with, and I didn't want to forget my roots.

'I always pay my debts, and wanted to make sure the people who helped me when I was younger and my family were paid back.'

Elderly local Qiong Chu, 75, said: 'I remember his parents. They were kind-hearted people who cared very much for others, and it's great that their son has inherited that kindness.'


Luxury flats that replaced huts Xiong Shuihua well laid roads Interiors Another view of the residential project Wow Classy

Image - source - dailymail

Nazi Germany? No more.

Gone are the days when Germany under the Nazis was all work all day long, all through the year without much emphasis on the recreational side of life. Back then, Germany was efficient, reliable and technically advanced yet the Germans led a life which was more or less non existent outside of work.

Even now, Germany still does mean perfection, a progressive economy, efficient workforce, reliability and the authoritative business entity in continental Europe. The only difference is that, Germany has transformed itself from the "drain the life force of the workers" work culture of the Nazi period in to a "Treasure your life " work culture nowadays.

Germany has transformed from a war torn piece of trash economy of the world war II days, into this great industrial super giant which even has trade surplus against the world's largest exporters - USA and China (Trade surplus - When your exports outperform your imports)

What makes Germany is not just their technical advancement and their long lasting machinery but the people running their businesses - right from the bottom level employee to the CEO of the company. Let us see what is so unique about their business etiquette that makes them so successful.

Promises

In German Business Culture, if you promised something to do, you have to do; If your colleague promised you something, it will be completed as promised, and the same goes for external upstreams and downstreams.

The Germans just do not like surprises. They have learnt from experiences in life and work that a single break in the work chain wreaks havoc in the entire chain costing time money and effort that spoils it for everyone and have come to respect the fact that what is expected to be done has to e done. If they plan something, it has to be done within the timeframe.

In Indian workplaces, we see a lot of troubles about broken promises which affect our business greatly.

German businesses offer direct and realistic TATs of the work in question and not compromise on it. They commit to it only if it is possible to do so and just do not make empty promises to their clients just to get business. When a German business makes a promise to deliver something at a certain time, you can be sure of getting it done by that time.

This simple etiquette makes German business certain and powerful.

Work at Work, Play at Play

Germans work just 35 hours a week and yet they are one of the most productive countries in the world. Compare this to some our Indian IT / ITES companies where techies work more than 80 hours a week yet failing terribly on their deadlines. How? Actually, the heading gives the idea. Germans just focus on work when they are at work. It is quite logical to say so and you can say that even that is what happens mostly in India too.

Think about your workplace: How many hours you spend everyday for gossips, cricket chats, making weekend plans? Yes, a lot. I strongly believe that working 6 hours with perfect focus and productivity is better than 12 hours with lack of it.

German business culture revolves around working hard and playing hard. German laws forbid any business communication outside business hours. That means no business emails, SMS', calls after work etc. Therefore, a German mind is completely free after work to socialize and be happy. Happy Employee = Increased Productivity.

Germans get a whopping 31 (24 vacation + 7 holidays) days of paid holidays a year apart from their weekends to have a life outside of work.

Direct

It is one of the best things about German behavior that is actually that being direct about everything and we Indians do practice it efficiently meh., in the unorganized sectors. But when it comes to proper workplaces we have lost the touch. The fact that most unorganized Indian workplaces function efficiently is due to this principle or the lack of it is what affects productivity in large corporations. Trying to be more polite and avoiding to be a "rude prick at the workplace", people avoid direct instructions and lean towards suggestions.

German businesses are run on direct instructions as compared to indirect suggestions or requests. What is the difference between "It will be great if you can..." and "I need you to do" or "I will be so happy if you finish it by 5PM" and "I need this by 5PM"?. The latter is more direct and defines what is expected. It is strict but effective. Studies on human psychology show that employees are more responsive with increased focus and adherent when they hear direct instructions from their bosses. They realize the importance.


Maybe it time for Indian businesses to run their operations like the Germans do and maybe someday promises made by Indian companies can be trusted to delivered upon.

Leadership is the creation of an environment in which others are able to self-actualize in the process of completing the job

John Mellecker

NASCAR

NASCAR was started by bootleggers

It is undeniable that the roots of NASCAR can be traced back to the days of prohibition in the U.S. In the early days of prohibition, "moonshine runners" (illegal whiskey deliverers) would drive like maniacs to give the slip to law enforcement officers and drivers quickly gained a reputation for outrunning the police.

No one knows exactly when the drivers started competing against each other, but soon everybody was talking about the moonshine runners.

In 1948, one of the drivers, Bill France (Big Bill), gathered everyone together – drivers, car owners and mechanics – to form the National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR) and the rest is history.

Fanta

Fanta was created during WWII in Germany after Coca-Cola stopped shipping its syrup

Yes, the same bubbly, fizzy orange drink manufactured by Coca-Cola that is very popular in Europe, parts of Asia, Africa and Latin America. But little did people know that the origins of this sweet innocent drink has its origins traced back to Nazi Germany

After the attack on American soil (Pearl Harbour, December 7, 1941) during World War 2, Coca-Cola stopped shipping its intimately guarded secret syrup to Germany. Coca Cola, Germany was no longer able to produce the world's favorite fizzy beverage and stocks were quickly depleting.

Max Keith, the chief of Coca-Cola in Germany, determined to keep Germany awash in soda, brought together some random ingredients including some leftover by-products from a local cheese factory, remains of apple after being processed for cider and a huge load of artificial sugar. The result was Fanta, a drink that quickly caught on all over Germany not only because it was quite tasty, but also because it made an excellent substitute for soup broth.

After the war ended, Fanta production was stopped for a while and reintroduced with minor improvements as a direct competitor against Pepsi.

Coke

Cocaine (coke) was in Coca-Cola's secret syrup

Coke's super secret formula may have something to do with the fact how the world's favorite drink got its name

Coke's original formula had two main ingredients that gave the beverage its distinct flavor – coca leaves and cola nut Yes, the same coca leaves that are used to extract cocaine.

Coke contained a small amount of cocaine (or fluid extract of coca leaf).

Back then, cocaine was widely used as a medication and the beverage was developed to be an instant tonic for the nerves.

After the draconian effects of cocaine were discovered, Coke altered its formula to use processed Coca leaves (after extracting the drug) which is claimed to be used to this day.

Coca-Cola's history is a lot muddy than this, but that could be the topic of a whole new long list.

Zildjian

Zildjian cymbals were once used for warfare

Avedis Zildjian, being one of the most recognizable brands in the world of music would be hard pressed to find any percussionist who doesn't swear by Zildjian cymbals.

Only a few know that these popular instruments of music were once popular instruments of war.

Zildjian cymbals have a history that dates back to a 17th Century Armenian alchemist named Avedis. In a bid to turn bronze to gold, Avedis figured out a way to combine silver, copper and tin with bronze in a way that allowed the alloy to be beaten into incredibly thin discs. These discs produced an incredibly high pitch sound when struck and were also lightweight and easy to carry. Avedis knew that the emperor's army could use the discs as a weapon of intimidation.

Avedis took his invention to the ruler of the Ottoman Empire, Sultan Osman II, and became a Zildjian (Armenian for cymbal-maker).

Centuries later, Avedis' descendants continue to use the secretly guarded ancient technique to make the famous cymbals which are known for their sustain, power and clarity of sound.

Kellogg's Corn Flakes

Kellogg's Corn Flakes were invented to control masturbation

During the early 1900s, one of the greatest taboos was masturbation and believed that the practice would lead to mental and physical health problems due to the hard work of a few anti-masturbation crusaders.

John Kellogg, a trained physician and nutritionist attempted to deter masturbating youth with techniques such as sewing the male foreskin with a silver wire and burning the female clitoris with carbolic acid.

Kellogg believed meat created sexual urges and insisted that people should consume more cereal and nuts to curb their masturbation. He created Kellogg's Corn Flakes with his brother Will, who worked as a bookkeeper at the sanatorium where John practiced.

Will was not interested in marketing corn flakes as an anti-masturbation supplement and instead sold the sugar-coated flakes as a breakfast alternative.

Graham crackers

Graham crackers – another anti-masturbation food

Graham crackers were a part of an essential diet designed by Sylvester Graham to help people control their sexual urges.

Much like John Kellogg, Sylvester Graham pushed a cereal/nut based diet and asked people to not consume meat.

The original recipe for graham crackers called for bland biscuits made out of unrefined flour, but the crackers have undergone many changes over the years and the present version has very few similarities to its original.

Sanitary napkins

Sanitary napkins were designed to stop bullet wounds

The history of sanitary napkin manufacturer Kotex dates all the way back to World War I.

In 1914, paper supplier Kimberly-Clark developed a unique product processed from wood known as "cellucotton." The material had over 5 times the absorbing capacity of cotton and was half the price.

Cellucotton was used by the U.S. military during World War I to stop wounded soldiers from bleeding to death.

After the war, Kimberly-Clark decided to re-purpose Cellucotton to create disposable sanitary napkins. This was groundbreaking at a time when only cotton rags were being used by women for their sanitary needs.

Cellucotton transformed itself into Cellunap and eventually Kotex (Cotton-Textile) thanks to some clever marketing efforts by the Charles F.W. Nichols Company. By 1945, every American woman was using sanitary pads.

Hollywood

Hollywood was established as a farming community

When it was established in the mid-1850s, Hollywood was once on the outskirts of Los Angeles. The land and weather were conducive to agriculture all year round. Hollywood was a thriving community of farmers until the early 1900s when moviemakers were attracted to the area for the same reasons.

The first film studio, the Nestor Company set up shop in 1911, others followed suit and the rest, as they say, is history.

Red Bull

The truth about cow bile in Red Bull

Admit it, most of you have at least one can of Red Bull stashed away somewhere in your home. Did you know that the world's favorite energy drink has some skeletons in its closet?

No, we are not talking about the urban legend that suggests Red Bull has bull sperm. What it does have is an amino acid most commonly found in cow bile.

Dietrich Mateschitz (the guy who created Red Bull) came across a rejuvenating tonic sold in Thailand that went by the name "Krating Daeng" (Red Water Buffalo). Mateschitz found that the tonic worked incredibly well in curing his jetlag and he was immediately struck with an idea.

Mateschitz rebranded the syrup for the western market after tinkering with the original recipe. The main components of Red Bull are taurine (the stuff that gives you the wings), caffeine and loads of artificial sugar.

Taurine (Greek for bull urine) is a product that is found most abundantly in cow bile. It is present naturally in most mammals and trace amounts of taurine can also be found in meat and diary products. Studies suggest that it is safe for consumption in small quantities.

The taurine in Red Bull is the source of all the controversies associated with the drink (including the one about bull sperm). Sadly for conspiracy theorists, Red Bull synthesizes taurine in laboratory and not from bovine urine as many may lead you to believe.

The online marketing terms that everyone must know

Online Presence

Your online presence is everywhere your business info can be found online and on mobile apps.

In today’s connected world, establishing a proper online presence is absolutely critical. Consumers use the web to make their final decision. According to a Nielsen study, four out of five Yelp users visit the review site before making a purchase.

Whether looking for a new business or researching a known one, potential customers will use search engines and social platforms to find the information they need. To help get you started, here are 24 free places to list your business online.

CTA

A call to action prompts a customer to do something (for example: “Call now.” “Click here for 10% off.”). Testing different CTAs as part of your marketing will help you find out which is the most effective for your business.

As a small business, it doesn’t matter how enticing your online presence is if you do not present a clear call to action. Even the most interested consumers need a clear next step and possibly an incentive to move forward.

Conversion

Conversion is the step from your marketing effort to a customer taking action. A conversion could be an email or call, but most often a direct purchase.

The goal of your marketing should be to drive conversions. You need to decide in advance how you define a conversion. This way you know what to track and what you want to achieve.

You want to minimize drop off between someone seeing you online and actually making a purchase. Remarketing can help with this.

Remarketing

Remarketing is following up with consumers that have interacted with you or your marketing before. For example, sending email or a text messages to existing customers with the goal of building loyalty or getting referrals, feedback and reviews.

Remarketing to your existing customer contacts is one of the most important online-marketing activities for small-business owners. These customers already know your business and are much more likely to engage and convert via effective marketing.

Referrals

Referrals are new customers that have been directed to your business by other customers or companies.

A trusted recommendation is more powerful and effective than any type of advertising. By using targeted-remarketing messages you can encourage this type of digital word of mouth.

CAC

Customer acquisition cost refers to the dollar amount spent to acquire a new customer. For example, if you work with a marketing service that you pay $1,000 and because of their work they deliver five new customers, the CAC of this marketing effort is $200.

Your end goal is new customers and revenue. It is important to understand how much each of your marketing efforts cost to achieve that goal. This will help you evaluate your marketing efforts. Make sure you know about the CAC when working with a marketing service.

CLTV

Customer lifetime value is the dollar value of a customer relationship -- based on the total profit you expect to earn from that client over their time with your business. So if your service costs $50 and customers generally buy this service five times throughout their lifetime, the combined dollar value of all these transactions, or CLTV, is $250.

CLTV is an essential concept in marketing, because it determines how much you can spend on your marketing. Generally speaking, any marketing effort where the CLTV is higher than the CAC delivers a return on your investment and is something you should continue to invest in. So don’t just look at marketing in terms of costs but how it adds to your bottom line!

Cloud computing

Cloud computing, sometimes called software as a service or web-based software services, simply means business services such as email, storage or accounting supplied over the Internet. Using the cloud is increasingly popular with small-business owners because it’s more affordable and makes it easy to update the services.

Using cloud computing for your marketing is a smart approach as it’s affordable and makes it easy to update and integrate any services. For example, customer-relationship-management software is a marketing tool that many large companies have been using for years, however it is now well within the price point and time-commitment range for small-business owners.